Sunday 22nd SEPTEMBER ? VIC HILLCLIMB CH?SHIP Rd.9 DECA, Shepparton.

This year?s hillclimb series has been longer than usual with Championship scores being based on each competitor? s best eight rounds of the nine rounds contested. The last round of the series was held recently at the DECA driver training complex in Shepparton where 50 competitors enjoyed superb conditions and a well run event hosted by the Shepparton and District Car Club. This venue is a favourite of mine, even though it?s quite short at only 800metres and there?s no real hill to speak of.
The course starts on top of a small rise. The cars then race downhill into a tight, second-gear, right-left-right chicane before climbing the ?Shepparton Hill? which quickly becomes a blind crest as the road drops away into a fast left-hand turn. It?s then hard onto the brakes and back to second gear for a long sweeping right-hand 180 degree turn that leads onto the back straight where another right-left-right chicane slows the pace prior to the short sprint to the finish line. The road is narrow and uneven with several surface changes over its length; but great fun to drive.
The weather at Shepparton is always a concern, and although it was raining early in the morning, it remained fine and dry during the event, allowing drivers six dry runs?each in which to post their fastest time.?Hot food was always on hand and funds went towards supporting the local club.
Only two Sporting Register members made their way to Shepparton for this final round. After a close tussle with the Nc Cooper S of Peter Weymouth-Wilson, Steve Schmidt?s Group Nb Cooper S was relegated to second in its class by less than 0.4 of a second, placing 23rd outright with a fastest time of 36.80 seconds. Peter Thomson made the journey up from Warragul for his maiden appearance at a DECA Hillclimb. He ran his 6-litre V8 Torana Hatchback in the non-log booked class which is for cars that are either ineligible to compete under current class structure, or are yet to acquire their CAMS Competition Vehicle Log Book. Peter recorded a best time of 36.49 seconds which placed him 20th overall and second in class for which he received a VHC silver medallion.
David Anderson and Steve Schmidt have each won their class in the overall Hillclimb Championship this year, Jane Vollebregt came second behind David in their class and Ian Holdsworth finished 4th in his class despite competing in only half the events. Awards will be presented at a Presentation Dinner next month.

no images were found

This entry was posted in Hillclimb. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *